Our Board

Our Hōhepa Hawke’s Bay Board

Our board plays a vital role in guiding and shaping our organisation to ensure that we continue to make a positive impact in the lives of those we serve, now and in the future.

We govern our community with care, responsibility and strong family involvement, safeguarding our special character and embracing the dignity and rights of every individual.

Santiago de Marco - General Manager

Santiago De Marco

CEO, Hōhepa Hawkes Bay

Santiago joined Hōhepa Hawkes Bay with his family in 1999. Santiago has a proven commitment to the people Hōhepa supports, their teams, and families. He has a broad range of skills with extensive experience in the health and education sector, as well as in governance and management. Santiago has served in a number of organisations across the globe and has a strong strategic and sustainable development focus. He supports the Hōhepa community to thrive by ensuring the Hōhepa vision, mission and values are aligned with everything Hōhepa strives to achieve. He is an active member of the Institute of Managers and IOD.

Waylyn Tahuri-Whaipakanga - Chair, Hōhepa Hawke's Bay Board

Waylyn Tahuri-Whaipakanga


Waylyn joined the Hōhepa Hawke’s Bay Regional Board as a member in April 2016. Waylyn is now the Chair of the Hōhepa Hawke’s Bay Regional Board, and is also a Hōhepa Homes Trust Board trustee. Waylyn serves on a number of Boards, and has extensive professional experience in the health industry. Her particular areas of interest are mental health and addictions, disability, counselling, psychotherapy, and education. Her current role is as CEO at Te Taiwhenua O Heretauga.

Neill Culley - Hōhepa Hawke's Bay Board

Neill Culley

Board Member & Risk Committee Chair

Neill has been associated with Hōhepa Hawke’s Bay since 2018, when his son, Reuben Culley, went to live at Hōhepa. Neill has held various governance roles in the New Zealand wine industry, and currently holds the position of Director of Wine Science at The University of Auckland. Neill is the chair of the Hōhepa Hawke’s Bay Risk, Sustainability and Assurance Committee.

John Stinson - Hōhepa Hawke's Bay Board

John Stinson

Board Member & Finance Committee Chair

John grew up in Hawke’s Bay and studied accounting at Massey University, and is a chartered accountant by profession. John worked in accounting roles in Wellington for many years, including roles in listed companies, government departments, and not-for-profits. On returning to Hawke’s Bay he has undertaken various part-time accounting roles including in the Hōhepa finance office in Clive. He was, until recently, a Board member and treasurer of BudgetFirst, a Hastings based budget advisory service. John is the chair of the Hōhepa Hawke’s Bay Finance Committee.

Josie Willis - Hōhepa Hawke's Bay Board

Josie Willis

Board Member

Josie is a qualified accountant who farms at Porangahau in partnership with her husband, Donald. Josie previously served on the Central Hawke’s Bay Power Consumers Trust as the appointee of CHB District Council, and as a Director of Centralines Ltd.


Josie is currently an Eastern Central Community Trust trustee. Josie is an Associate Member (ACA) of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and a Chartered Member of the New Zealand Institute of Directors.

Sandra Arathimos - Hōhepa Hawke's Bay Board

Sandra Arathimos

Board Member

Sandra is a Special Needs teacher and has been associated with Hōhepa since 2001, when her son Michael joined the Hōhepa community. Sandra was very closely involved with Hōhepa School, including being Chair of the School Parents Advisory Group while Michael was a student.